1. Interviews: Dwid Hellion (Psywarfare/Integrity)

    In 1993, the Federal Government blasted high volume, cacophonous, screeching noises at a compound in Waco, Texas in order to drive gun toting Branch Davidians out from their barricade. Dwid Hellion heard a clip of those wretched, painful, abject sounds on CNN and thought to himself, “I could do better than that.”

    Despite also fronting metal legends Integrity, Hellion immediately created the Psywarfare project, a mostly studio affair which found Hellion pushing sound to oppressive extremes for the purpose of selling the recordings to the government to use as psychological weapons against fortified targets. Although Hellion didn’t end up making a sale, he continued with Psywarfare and every so few years, massive, bizarre sound recordings would appear in the underground trading circuit.

    This Record Store Day, Hellion is releasing The Exotic Sounds of Psywarfare which finds him merging his own dark, ominous sounds with the organic music of the Pacific rim. Recently, features editor John Gentile spoke with Hellion about Psywarfare, the abstract attributes of homemade instruments and “how” to listen to noise music.

    via Punknews.org (http://pnkn.ws/1nt6C4o)

    8 hours ago  /  1 note

  2. New Review Update: April 17, 2014

    Adam E. back today with three new reviews. In digging through the Punknews reviews database, I recently discovered that in our long, storied history, no one has ever submitted a review of MC Hammer’s classic Please Hammer Don’t Hurt ‘Em. Someone get on that.

    Today’s reviews are:

    Looking for another (or any) review? Head here. Want to submit your own review? Do that here.

    via Punknews.org (http://pnkn.ws/1r3hVR6)

    10 hours ago  /  0 notes

  3. On Tour: Night Birds (Europe/US)

    Night Birds Night Birds, that rough and rowdy surf-music-influenced band is going on a fairly extended tour. They’ll be traveling across Europe and the USA.

    You can click read more for those dates.

    via Punknews.org (http://pnkn.ws/1jOsndY)

    11 hours ago  /  7 notes

  4. Black Flag v. FLAG lawsuit settled

    FLAG The modern incarnation of Black Flag, FLAG (the band comprising of former Black Flag members) and former Black Flag vocalist Henry Rollins, have settled their lawsuit. The details of the settlement are confidential, but according to Black Flag’s attorney, “”Flag gets to be Flag, and Black Flag as it is presently known continues to be Black Flag.”

    The basis of the suit was that the Greg Ginn led Black Flag, which recently fired vocalist Ron Reyes, was suing FLAG and Henry Rollins for trademark infringement, as well as violation of a settlement agreement previously signed between SST records and FLAG bassist Chuck Dukowski. The case was not, as many sources reported, a copyright issue. Punknews followed the whole “summer of Black Flag” fairly closely and you can click read more for some of our stories following both bands.

    via Punknews.org (http://pnkn.ws/QrWZYu)

    11 hours ago  /  2 notes

  5. New Music: Buzz Osborne: “Drunken Baby”

    Melvins That mighty, merciless, unflinching deity that causes weaker, flannel wearing, thick-glasses wearing, “emotional” musicians to quiver and reassess their lives, Buzz Osborne of The Melvins has released a new track from his upcoming acoustic solo LP, The Machine Kills Artists. The track is called “Drunken Baby” and you can check it out here. The album is due out June 3 via Ipecac Records.

    via Punknews.org (http://pnkn.ws/1r35QeG)

    12 hours ago  /  0 notes

  6. Madball announces ‘Hardcore Lives!’

    Madball NYHC stalwarts Madball have announced a new album. It’s called Hardcore Lives and is due out June 27. The album features guest appearances by Toby Morse of H20, Scott Vogel of Terror, and Candace Puopolo of Walls of Jericho.

    Frontman Freddy Cricien stated:

    “I shouted ‘Hardcore Lives’ on Madball’s first release, *Ball Of Destruction*, - I was twelve then. It wasn’t pre-planned or written down… it was an ad-lib that I just threw out there and we kept it! Back then there was no choice really, not the way we were recording - two track live at *Don Fury*’s… NYHC style! I feel the sentiment behind the expression still holds true today, maybe even more so. That said, Hardcore Lives at least to us, is not just about a cool ‘catchphrase’ - it’s about that rebellious spirit that doesn’t give in… In life, music, whatever. It’s about growing, evolving, and maintaining your integrity in the process. ”
    You can click read more for upcoming tour dates.

    via Punknews.org (http://pnkn.ws/QhxN7f)

    13 hours ago  /  0 notes

  7. On Tour: Zero Boys (West Coast)

    Zero Boys The Zero Boys have announced a short West Coast tour. The tour coincides with their upcoming album, Monkey, which will be released on May 20 and will be their first LP in 20 years.

    You can click read more for those dates.

    via Punknews.org (http://pnkn.ws/P8TrJS)

    14 hours ago  /  0 notes

  8. Kevin Whittemore leaves La Dispute

    La Dispute Kevin Whittemore, who co-founded La Dispute in 2004, has parted ways with the band. That is to say, they are “no longer a thing”… or, if you prefer, “they decided to no longer maintain their current relationship”… or you could also try, “it’s not you, it’s them.” Whittemore played his last show with the band at the last stop of their tour, which ended in Cleveland. At the show, Whittemore stated:

    “This band has been a dream come true for me. I thank God every day for giving me this opportunity.”
    The band has not released a statement about Whittemore’s departure, so, in the comment section below, we encourage you to concoct and post fantastical reasons for the split. We suggest that Whittemore was summoned by the Hyper-Elves of the 19th dimension to aid in their war against the evil, giant peacock riding Psy-Wizards of the House of Uluth in the year 5077*.

    via Punknews.org (http://pnkn.ws/1h7j98b)

    15 hours ago  /  1 note

  9. New Music: Converge: “Precipice / All We Love We Leave Behind”

    Converge Metalcore maniacs Converge have released a new music video. It’s called “Precipice / All We Love We Leave Behind” and is taken from their last album, All We Love We Leave Behind from 2012. The video was directed by Craig Murray and you can check it out after the jump.

    via Punknews.org (http://pnkn.ws/1jNBcoC)

    16 hours ago  /  2 notes

  10. On Tour: The Lawrence Arms / The Copyrights (Midwest)

    The Lawrence Arms Your favorite band, The Lawrence Arms, are going on tour in late May. They’ll be joined on the short jaunt by The Copyrights and Sam Russo. The band released Metropole earlier this year.

    You can click read more for the dates.

    via Punknews.org (http://pnkn.ws/1eNyeBJ)

    17 hours ago  /  2 notes